The K and L prize, founded and sponsored by New Zealand based Nigerian writer, Myles Ojabo, awards $1000 (New Zealand) to the best piece of unpublished fiction. Now in its third edition, the 2021 K & L prize 2021 has thrown open its submission windows. The theme for the short story prize is Madness. The term could mean insanity or aberrant behavior, depending on how the writer interprets it. The panel of judges for this edition is the trio of Sisca Julius, Su’ur Agema, and Myles Ojabo.


  • Only African writers between 18 and 25 years old are eligible.
  • Stories should be entered by the 1st of March 2021.
  • Email subject should have the name of short stories, age of the applicant, and ‘2021 K and L prize’.
  • Submissions must be in English and should reflect the theme, ‘Madness’.
  • Only one entry per writer is allowed.
  • Stories must not be more than 2000 words.
  • The submission should be in Microsoft Word.
  • Entries should be sent to
  • Entries must not have been previously published.

Terms and Condition:

  • Only the winner is entitled to have the cash prize of 1000 New Zealand dollars. In the case where there are joint winners, the prize money will be shared.
  • Writers that eventually make the longlist are required to submit a copy of their birth certificate.
  • Stories of writers on the longlist would be publicized and published in the K and L Anthology: Full Moon.
  • Every writer on the longlist will get a free e-copy of the anthology.        
  • Writers that eventually make the shortlist would be offered an interview session.
  • Writers that make the shortlist would be asked to submit their photos and other information necessary for publicizing the prize.
  • All finances raised from sales of the anthology would go towards funding and developing the K and L Prize.
  • The decisions of the judges’ on entries are final and not subject to any appeal.

For more opportunities for writers, please subscribe to our newsletter.